Opening DMG16_©miriam raneburger__47

© Miriam Raneburger

Designmonat Graz 2017

29th April to 28th May 2017

The month of May will again focus on Designmonat Graz (Month of Design). An extensive programme provides an insight into different creative disciplines and links with various de-signers. Events such as exhibitions, workshops or lectures invite you to networking in the UNESCO City of Design Graz.

From 29th April to 28th May, Designmonat Graz 2017 is coordinated and organised by Creative In-dustries Styria (CIS) – already for the ninth time. There is a persistent strong interest in the event: in the previous year a total of 51,000 visitors at 122 single events with 84 partners were recorded.

In the course of Designmonat Graz 2017 the programme focuses on ‘Smart Design – Smart Production’ and deals with the age of digital networking and the multifarious tools of the Digital Revolution. Last but not least, the protagonists of the creative industries – developers, researchers, program-mers and designers – are the ones who created and enabled the new technological age. There are also plans for a ‘Smartness Conference’ on this subject.

Major events

The exhibition ‘SELECTED’ has a long tradition in terms of current interior design trends of different brands from diverse countries. What is new, is not only the presented trends but also the location because this year the exhibition is staged in the Museum of Natural History at Joanneumsviertel.

The successful format ‘Design in the City’ continues to actively involve commercial companies of Graz in the programme of Designmonat. By doing so, the participating companies launch design activities in addition to their everyday business. Further, the fashion and design festival ‘assembly’ will once more be a part of Designmonat Graz.

Established partners

Designmonat Graz will again include the production ‘Klanglicht’ of Bühnen Graz – this year it will take place on two days at selected locations. Schloss Hollenegg for Design invites to the exhibition MORPHOSIS around the topic ‘change, evolution and transformation/metamorphosis’. The fans of Fesch’Markt may also look forward to the month of May. In cooperation with FH Joanneum, the Department of Media & Design wants to familiarise us with the media design of the 1970s. The exhibition called ‘The Orange Age’ presents audio and TV devices as well as communication and office appliances, provided by Heinz Fischer. In addition, we plan lectures on the issue of smart communication in the future.

New accents

‘Smart Urban Privacy’ is the name of a cooperation with Holzcluster Styria, in the course of which we present objects, that enable a temporary retreat at lively, public locations. The smart city furniture for ‘digital natives’ or ‘digital immigrants’ rely of course on the smart material wood. Speaking of wood: within the regional focus on Raabtal, we will stage the second design battle in May, where teams of designers and specialists will cope with a task based on the topic ‘wood’.

That was Designmonat Graz 2016

Designmonat Graz 2016 from CIS Community on Vimeo.

Back to Overview

Opening DMG16_©miriam raneburger__47
© Miriam Raneburger

Designmonat Graz 2017

29. April bis 28. Mai 2017

Der Monat Mai steht wieder ganz im Zeichen des Designmonat Graz. Ein umfangreiches Programm vermittelt Einblicke in verschiedene Kreativdisziplinen und Anknüpfungspunkte zu unterschiedlichsten Designschaffenden. Veranstaltungen wie Ausstellungen, Workshops oder Vorträge laden zum Vernetzen in die UNESCO City of Design Graz ein.

Vom 29. April bis 28. Mai findet der Designmonat Graz 2017 statt. Zum neunten Mal wird diese Veranstaltung bereits von den Creative Industries Styria koordiniert und organisiert und das Interesse daran ist anhaltend groß: Im Vorjahr konnten insgesamt 51.000 Besucher bei 122 Einzelveranstaltungen mit 84 Programmpartnern verzeichnet werden.

Der Programmfokus im Designmonat Graz 2017 ist “Smart Design – Smart Production” und setzt sich mit dem Zeitalter digitaler Vernetztheit und den vielgestaltigen Tools des digitalen Wandels auseinander. Nicht zuletzt sind es die Protagonisten der Kreativwirtschaft – Entwickler, Forscher, Programmierer und Designer – die die Schöpfer und Ermöglicher des neuen technologischen Zeitalters sind. Geplant ist auch eine Smartness Konferenz zu diesem Themenkreis.

Große Veranstaltungen
Tradition im Designmonat Graz hat die Ausstellung SELECTED zu aktuellen Interior-Design-Trends unterschiedlicher Labels aus verschiedenen Nationen. Neu sind dabei nicht nur die präsentierten Trends, sondern auch der Standort – die Ausstellung geht heuer im Naturkundemuseum im Joanneumsviertel über die Bühne.
In die nächste Runde geht das erfolgreiche Format Design in the City, das Handelsbetriebe in Graz aktiv in das Programm des Designmonat involviert. Die teilnehmenden Unternehmen setzen dabei über ihr Alltagsgeschäft hinaus Designaktivitäten. Außerdem wird das Mode- und Designfestival assembly wieder Teil des Designmonat Graz sein.

Bewährte Partner
Die Inszenierung Klanglicht der Bühnen Graz findet auch 2017 wieder im Rahmen des Designmonat Graz statt – heuer an 2 Tagen an ausgewählten Locations. Das Schloss Hollenegg for Design lädt zur Ausstellung MORPHOSIS rund um den Themenkreis Veränderung, Evolution und Verwandlung und die Fans des Fesch’Markt dürfen sich ebenfalls auf den Monat Mai freuen. Die Kooperation mit der FH Joanneum, Department Medien & Design bringt unter dem Titel The Orange Age, in einer Ausstellung von Heinz Fischer, Audio- und TV-Geräten, Kommunikationsapparaten und Büromaschinen das Mediendesign der 1970er-Jahre näher. Dazu sind Lectures zum Thema der smarten Kommunikation der Zukunft geplant.

Neue Akzente
„Smart Urban Privacy“ nennt sich eine Kooperation mit dem Holzcluster Steiermark, bei der Objekte präsentiert werden, die einen temporären Rückzugsraum auf belebten, öffentlichen Plätzen ermöglichen. Die smarten Stadt-Möbel für „Digital Natives“ sowie „Digital Immigrants“ greifen dabei natürlich auf den smarten Werkstoff Holz zurück. Apropos Holz: Im Rahmen des Regionalschwerpunktes Raabtal wird im Mai die zweite Design Battle veranstaltet, bei der Teams aus Designern und Profis an einer Aufgabenstellung rund um das Thema Holz feilen.

Das war der Designmonat Graz 2016

Designmonat Graz 2016 from CIS Community on Vimeo.

Zurück zur Übersicht