Lectures, Women & Design
„COMMON! Design for society“ FH JOANNEUM Lecture Days
14. May - 15. May 2019 | Joanneumsviertel Auditorium
The Lecture-Series of the Department of Media und Design of FH JOANNEUM will invite once more a range of international speakers to Graz, to present and discuss diverse aspects of design based on concrete examples. This year’s Lecture Days are themed "COMMON! Design for Society".
@ Philipp Podesser

Since the 1950s “Every man is the architect of his future” has been a popular quote to justify the increasing individualism in mass production and consuming based Western industrial societies. Why bother to cooperate and act in solidarity if apparently everyone has the opportunities to not only pursue their interests on their own but can also achieve their aims individually? Well, we know by now that the world does not work like that anymore.

For quite a while designers have been working across industry borders and in teams. They question social and physical environments as well as the effects of an economy based on mass consumptions and exploitation. They bring initiatives in neighbourhoods and city quarters, relevant to society as a whole. Further has it become increasingly important to handle resources and people being part of design processes in a sustainable and caring way. Nowadays, by means of aesthetic approaches, we see design as a chance to shape attitudes, behaviour as well as the environment and society. Yes, indeed! Today – more than ever – design is meant to radically change the world.

Program

May 14
13.00 – 15.00
Alexandra Sankova | Director at Moscow Design Museum
Women in Design USSR 1917

15.00 – 15.30
Interact and Hear
Microperfomances by Interaction and Sounddesigner of the master pogram with self build sound objects

15.30 –17.00 
Juliana Faludi | Assistant Professor at the Media, Marketing and Design Communications Department of Corvinus University of Budapest
Human Agency and Technology in Surviving the Apocalypse

May 15
13.00 – 15.00

Rebecca Willis | project manager and designer at the Detroit Collaborative Design Center
Loving Strangers and the Built Environment

When
14. May - 15. May 2019
Where
Registration

Frauen & Design, Lectures
„COMMON! Design for society“ FH JOANNEUM Lecture Days
14. Mai - 15. Mai 2019 | Joanneumsviertel Auditorium
Die Lecture-Reihe des Instituts für Design und Kommunikation der FH JOANNEUM wird auch 2019 wieder internationale Speaker nach Graz einladen, um unterschiedlichste Aspekte an konkreten Beispielen zu präsentieren und zu diskutieren. Heuer stehen die Lecture days unter dem Titel „COMMON! Design for society“.
@ Philipp Podesser

„Jeder ist seines Glückes Schmied“ war seit den 1950er Jahren ein viel zitierter Satz, den zunehmenden Individualismus in den auf Massenproduktion und -konsum basierenden westlichen Industriegesellschaften zu begründen. Wozu noch kooperieren und solidarisch handeln, wenn scheinbar jede/r Einzelne die Möglichkeit hat, seine/ihre Interessen nicht nur selbst zu verfolgen, sondern auch durchzusetzen? Mittlerweile weiß man, dass die Welt so nicht funktioniert.

Designer und vor allem Designerinnen arbeiten schon sehr lange interdisziplinär und teamorientiert und hinterfragen die sozialen und materiellen Rahmenbedingungen und Auswirkungen, die eine Wirtschaftsweise mit sich bringt, die auf Massenkonsum und Ausbeutung basiert. Sie engagieren sich in Initiativen in Stadtvierteln und Quartieren sowie gesamtgesellschaftlich. Ein nachhaltiger Umgang mit Ressourcen und Menschen in Designprozessen wird zunehmend vorausgesetzt. Design wird als Chance begriffen mit ästhetischen Methoden Denk- und Handlungsweisen sowie Umwelt und Gesellschaft zu prägen. Jawohl! Design hat heute mehr denn je die Aufgabe die Welt radikal zu verändern.

Programm

14. Mai 2019
13.00 – 14.30
Alexandra Sankova | Direktorin am Moscow Design Museum
Women in Design USSR 1917 – Russia 2017

14.30 – 16.00 
Juliana Faludi | Assistenzprofessor in der Abteilung für Kommunikation, Marketing und Design der Corvinus Universität Budapest
Human Agency and Technology in Surviving the Apocalypse

16.00 – 17.30
Margot Bloomstein
DesigningTrust in an Era of Self Validating Facts

17.30 – 19.45
Offene Diskussion

 

15. Mai 2019
13.00 – 14.30
Rebecca Willis | Designerin am Detroit Collaborative Design Center
Loving Strangers and the Built Environment

14.30 – 15.00
Cellphone Participation Time (Performance)
Konzept und Programmierung: Sound- und Interactiondesignstudierende des Masterstudiengangs CMS

15.00 – 16.30
Julia Kloiber
Beyond the Golden Age of Pessimism

16.30 – 18.00
Offene Diskussion 

Wann
14. Mai - 15. Mai 2019
Wo
Anmeldung