Events, Exhibitions
IN_ORGANIC SYMBIOSIS
26.05.2022 — 6.06.2022 | Kunstraum Sagmeister
In Moya Hoke's exhibition, organic meets inorganic materials, creating a new understanding in the making of objects. The exhibition is the centerpiece of designfrische.
© Moya Hoke
When
26.05.2022 — 6.06.2022
Where

In the exhibition IN_ORGANIC SYMBIOSIS, Moya Hoke combines her artistic material research with Scoby skins (Symbiotic Culture Of Bacteria and Yeast), a living organism with luminous bodies made of translucent porcelain. The exhibition is complemented by an educational program that the artist herself creates in the form of participatory lecture performances to make production processes visible and the material literally comprehensible.

The title of the exhibition assigns the actual materiality of the objects to be experienced (porcelain, Scoby, light) and at the same time alludes to the unbalanced symbiosis between subject and object. Specially treated Scoby skin is combined with translucent porcelain to make the relationship between organic and inorganic material visible through light.

Grasping and comprehending is the focus of this interactive exhibition. In this way, Moya Hoke’s objects aim to generate in visitors an understanding in the making of things, or of the materials used to make them, which often fall into the background due to growing complexity and lack of engagement.

Another concern of the artist is to convey the process of creation; little attention or understanding is shown for everyday objects we take for granted, as we also rarely know how they are created. However, understanding the material, as well as how the product is made, plays a large role in the appreciation of objects. In addition, the understanding of the objects, opens a creative approach to them – does it also only serve to be able to repair them.

The exhibition is complemented by workshops or lecture performances that make the production processes of the exhibited objects visible. Here visitors are invited to participate practically and discursively themselves.

EXHIBITION
IN_ORGANIC SYMBIOSIS

Casa Tondolo | Alexander-Kortschak-Weg 6, 8530 Trahütten

Opening hours
May 26 – 29, 2022
June 4 – 6, 2022

from 11 am – 5 pm

www.moyahoke.com

Ausstellungen, Events
IN_ORGANIC SYMBIOSIS
26.05.2022 — 6.06.2022 | Kunstraum Sagmeister
In der Ausstellung von Moya Hoke treffen organische auf anorganische Materialen und schaffen so ein neues Verständnis in der Herstellung von Objekten. Die Ausstellung bildet das Kernstück der designfrische.
© Moya Hoke
Wann
26.05.2022 — 6.06.2022
Wo

Moya Hoke verbindet in der Ausstellung IN_ORGANIC SYMBIOSIS ihre künstlerische Materialforschung mit Scoby-Häuten (Symbiotic Culture Of Bacteria and Yeast), einem lebenden Organismus mit Leuchtkörpern aus transluzentem Porzellan. Ergänzt wird die Ausstellung durch ein Vermittlungsprogramm, das die Künstlerin, in Form von partizipativen Lecture Performances selbst gestaltet, um Produktionsprozesse sichtbar und das Material im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes begreifbar zu machen.

Der Titel der Ausstellung ordnet die tatsächliche Materialität der zu erlebbaren Objekte (Porzellan, Scoby, Licht) zu und spielt gleichzeitig auf die aus dem Gleichgewicht geratene Symbiose zwischen Subjekt und Objekt an. Speziell behandelte Scoby-Haut wird mit trans­luzentem Porzellan kombiniert, um die Beziehung zwischen organischem und anorganis­chem Material durch Licht sichtbar werden zu lassen.

Das Erfassen und Begreifen steht bei dieser interaktiven Ausstellung im Vordergrund. So möchten die Objekte von Moya Hoke in den BesucherInnen ein Verständnis in der Herstellung von Dingen, oder der dafür verwendeten Materialien erzeugen, die durch die wachsende Komplexität und fehlender Auseinandersetzung oft in den Hintergrund geraten.

Ein weiteres Anliegen der Künstlerin ist die Vermittlung des Entstehungsprozesses: für uns selbstverständliche Alltagsgegenständen wird wenig Aufmerksamkeit oder Verständnis gezeigt, da wir selten wissen, wie sie entstehen. Allerdings spielt das Verständnis des Materials, sowie die Machart des Produkts bei der Wertschätzung von Objekten eine große Rolle. Darüber hinaus eröffnet das Verstehen der Objekte, einen gestalter­ischen Umgang mit ihnen – dient es auch nur dazu, diese reparieren zu können.

Die Ausstellung wird durch Workshops bzw. Lecture Performances ergänzt, die die Produktion­sprozesse der ausgestellten Objekte sichtbar machen. Hier werden BesucherInnen eingeladen, sich selbst praktisch und diskursiv zu beteiligen.

AUSSTELLUNG
IN_ORGANIC SYMBIOSIS

Kunstraum Sagmeister | Weberthomaweg 2, Trahütten

Öffnungszeiten
26. – 29. Mai 2022
04. – 06. Juni 2022

jeweils von 11.00 – 17.00 Uhr

www.moyahoke.com