Events, Lectures
Redesign the Future
10.05.2021 — 11.05.2021 | Online-Event
When
10.05.2021 — 11.05.2021
Where

“Redesign the future” is the title of the Designmonat Graz online symposium that is held by FH JOANNEUM and Creative Industries Styria in cooperation with the Green Tech Cluster. In three panels, international speakers present solutions and best practice examples for the major project of the future – its’ very own rescue. Design will take a significant role in it.

Technically, the future had already been planned. We knew the problems as well as their solutions. The implementation was next. And then everything changed in an instant. “Today is tomorrow’s yesterday” as we like to say. Back to Square One then. It’s all about rethinking and redesigning the future, today more than ever. And here we have the online symposium’s topic which approaches the future in different ways. This also calls for a philosophical and spiritual base/foundation, as described in Stuart Walker’s latest book “Design And Spirituality”. He will open the symposium with a keynote, followed by 3 panels dealing with the following topics: the future of design education, the complex topic of climate in public space and design that puts people center stage even more.

Day 1
Monday, May 10, 2021

KEYNOTE: Stuart Walker

Stuart Walker © magination Lancaster
Professor Stuart Walker is Chair of Design for Sustainability at Lancaster University, UK where he co-founded the ImaginationLancaster Design Research Lab. He is also Visiting Professor of Sustainable Design at Kingston University, London and Emeritus Professor, University of Calgary, Canada. His research explores environmental, social and spiritual aspects of sustainability. His conceptual design work has been exhibited internationally and his numerous books include Sustainable by Design; Design for Life and Design Realities.

www.stuartwalker.org.uk

 

Abstract
Title: Design after a pandemic

The magnitude of COVID-19’s impact means that the need for action on a global level offers unique opportunities to reimagine societies, with far greater emphasis on environmental care and social justice so as to ensure a more positive and hopeful future for all. However, we must be careful not to simply frame the path to recovery in the same language and with the same thinking that has brought us to our current state of precariousness. A crucial part of this will be to reject the progress-entrenched thinking that has been causing so much harm for so long. This talk explores how design can contribute to this recovery. It means rejecting forms of design that yield innovation for its own sake and endless superficial novelty. Instead, it requires new forms of context-appropriate design whose outputs are not only environmentally responsible but also manifestations of ethical behaviour and meaningful contributions to human culture.

Panel 1: THE FUTURE OF DESIGN EDUCATION
hosted by FH JOANNEUM, Karl Stocker
Moderation: Karl Stocker

Design has accompanied the development of humankind from the beginning and especially in the last 150 years was actively involved in the development of modern industrial society. This results in a great/high social responsibility for the future which reflects in the curricula of traditional universities as well as universities of applied sciences. “In design education worldwide, design is being described as an improvement of the status quo as well as an innovation” says Karl Stocker, symposium curator and Head of Department for Design and Communication at FH JOANNEUM. A contradiction to the common perception of design that merely aims for aesthetic styling. It is rather the question of a wholistic perspective which also takes ethical aspects into account. Therefore, a modern design education is also an investment into shaping the future. In their lectures, Kerstin Scheuch of CENTRO University in Mexico City, Lorenzo Imbesi of Sapienza University Rome and Luisa Bocchietto of Citta del Arte in Biella will speak on these topics.

 

_Speaker Panel 1: The Future of Design Education

  • Speaker 1: Luisa Bocchietto | independent professional architect and designer and Former president of World Design Organization
    Title: News Step in Design
  • Speaker 2: Kerstin Scheuch | Centro Mexico
    Title: Reflections on the future of education
  • Speaker 3: Lorenzo Imbesi | Sapienza University Rome
    Title: Design Education in the Post-Industrial Age

KARL STOCKER

 

© Silke Traunfellner

Karl Stocker is a historian and the head of the Institute of Design & Communication at the FH JOANNEUM – University of Applied Sciences in Graz, Austria. In 1999 he founded the exhibition design agency BISDATO, which produces concepts, content and spatial design for cultural-historical exhibitions and museums. His professional and academic interests include design & theory, design & society, exhibition design and socio design. He has presented the results of his research at several conferences, symposia and universities around the world. Karl Stocker is the author and publisher of numerous publications; his most recent project are Socio-Design. Relevant Projects – Designed for Society (BirkhĂ€user 2017) and Designing Sustainable Cities (DeGruyter 2020).
www.fh-joanneum.at

Day 2
May 11, 2021

Panel 2: URBAN CHANGING CLIMATE
hosted by Green Tech Cluster
Moderation: Bernhard Puttinger

The second panel deals with climate with a focus on particular challenges in urban space. Nowadays already 80 percent of the world’s population work in cities and large agglomerations, particularly in Asia and Latin America. It has a serious impact on the cities which face a threatening climatic collapse if drastic countermeasures aren’t taken. This calls for ideas, political and urban development willingness as well as appropriate infrastructure that enables the production, accumulation and consumption of energy on a local scale. And: “It needs precisely thought out solutions, so people can drive forward climate transformation in an active and financially effective way” says Bernhard Puttinger, CEO of the Green Tech Cluster who is the symposium’s cooperation partner. The key question in this context is: how can technology go hand in hand with humans? Answers are provided by Karlheinz Boiger of Breathe Earth Collective (see also page 14 in this magazine), architect and city planner AglaĂ©e Degros of Technical University Graz.

 

_Speaker Panel 2: Changing Urban Climate

  • Speaker 1: Karlheinz Boiger, Breathe Earth Collective
    Title: Can future cities perform like a forest?
  • Speaker 2: AglaĂ©e Degros, TU Graz, Institut für StĂ€dtebau
    Title: Urban Climate Surfaces
  • Speaker 3: Daria Mayskaya, Energie Steiermark Kunden GmbH 
    Title: Future Energy Communities

BERNHARD PUTTINGER

© Green Tech Cluster

Bernhard Puttinger has 25 years of experience in the field of green innovation in various positions in research and business. He is a trained engineer in energy and building technologies and as well as Executive MBA. Since 2007 he is the general manager of the Green Tech Cluster Styria and initiates innovation projects with 200 companies in the field of green energy, green building and green resources. The region around Graz/Austria is known as the Green Tech Valley, where companies with an average annual growth rate of 10 % grow faster than the world markets. The Green Tech Cluster leads as global No. 1 the rankings of cleantech clusters by US venture networks and the ranking on “Cluster Management Excellence” by ESCA.
www.greentech.at

Panel 3: Designing for People
hosted by FH JOANNEUM
Moderation: Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr

With all the various tasks of design, one thing remains the same: design is made for human beings therefore human beings are design’s main focus. The symposium’s third panel shows that not everything is always equally suitable and useful at the same time. “Design always depends on the cultural, geographic and socio-economical background it was created in” says Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr, designer and tutor at Department for Design and Communication at FH JOANNEUM. Equally diverse are this panel‘s speakers. Mariana GonzĂĄlez de la Rosa of Universidad Puebla in Mexico talks about how social and solidarity-based economies in the design area can be pushed forward, particularly against the background of partly difficult economic conditions. Further contributions come from Angus Campbell of Elam School of Fine Arts at the University of Auckland/New Zealand as well as designer and design intermediary Emanuel Barbosa of Design College ESAD in Porto.

 

_Speaker Panel 3: Designing for People

  • Speaker 1: Mariana GonzĂĄlez de la Rosa | Universidad Iberoamericana Puebla
    Titel: Alternative economies, another way to rethink design practices for the people
  • Speaker 2: Emanuel Barbosa | Arte Matosinhos Porto, ESAD – College of Art and Design, Matosinhos Porto
    Titel: What can we do?
  • Speaker 3: Angus Campbell | Elam School of Fine Arts at the University of Auckland
    Titel: Designing with & beyond People

SIGRID BÜRSTMAYR​

© Ron Sandmayr

Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr is exhibition designer by study, design activist from the heart. She works at FH JOANNEUM – University of Applied Sciences, Graz. She presented her research results on conferences, recently in Mexico City, Istanbul and at a TEDx Talk. Meetings with people around the world keeps her quite optimistic. Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr believes that design is able to shape whole environments and to change the society for a better world. She also ist co-editor of the book Designing Sustainable Cities.
www.fh-joanneum.at

SYMPOSIUM
Redesign the Future
May 10 and 11, 2021,  Online-Event

more information about the programme:
Day 1, May 10
Day 2, May 11

The symposium is organized and hosted by  FH JOANNEUM, Creative Industries Styria and Green Tech Cluster.

Events, Lectures
Redesign the Future
10.05.2021 — 11.05.2021 | Online-Event
Wann
10.05.2021 — 11.05.2021
Wo

„Redesign the future“ – so lautet der Titel des Online-Symposiums im Designmonat Graz, das von der FH JOANNEUM und der Creative Industries Styria in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Green Tech Cluster veranstaltet wird. In drei Panels prĂ€sentieren internationale Speaker Lösungen und Best-Practice-Beispiele fĂŒr das Großprojekt der Zukunft – nĂ€mlich die Rettung derselben. Design wird dabei eine entscheidende Rolle ĂŒbernehmen.

Eigentlich war die Zukunft schon geplant. Man kannte die Probleme und auch die Lösungen. Umsetzen war angesagt. Und dann kam alles anders, und zwar ganz schnell. „Morgen ist das Heute schon wieder von gestern“, sagt man dann gerne. Also zurĂŒck an den Start. Es geht heute mehr denn je darum, die Zukunft neu zu denken und neu zu gestalten. Das ist auch das große Thema des Online-Symposiums, das sich der Zukunft auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise nĂ€hert. DafĂŒr wird es auch einen philosophischen und spirituellen Unterbau brauchen, wie Stuart Walker in seinem aktuellen Buch „Design and Spirituality“ beschreibt. Er wird das Symposium mit einer Keynote eröffnen. Danach folgen 3 Panels, die sich folgender Themen annehmen: die Zukunft der Designausbildung, das komplexe Themenfeld Klima im urbanen Raum sowie Design, das den Menschen noch stĂ€rker ins Zentrum rĂŒckt.

Tag 1
Montag, 10. Mai 2021

KEYNOTE: Stuart Walker

Stuart Walker © magination Lancaster
Professor Stuart Walker hat den Lehrstuhl fĂŒr Design fĂŒr Nachhaltigkeit an der Lancaster University in Großbritannien inne, wo er das ImaginationLancaster Design Research Lab mitbegrĂŒndet hat. Er ist außerdem Gastprofessor fĂŒr Nachhaltiges Design an der Kingston University in London und emeritierter Professor an der University of Calgary in Kanada. Seine Forschung untersucht ökologische, soziale und spirituelle Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit. Seine konzeptuellen Designarbeiten wurden international ausgestellt. Zu seinen zahlreichen Publikationen gehörten unter anderem Sustainable by Design; Design for Life und Design Realities.
www.stuartwalker.org.uk

 

Abstract
Titel: Design after a pandemic

Das Ausmaß der Auswirkungen von COVID-19 bedeutet, dass der Handlungsbedarf auf globaler Ebene einzigartige Möglichkeiten dafĂŒr bietet, Gesellschaften neu zu definieren, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf Umweltschutz und sozialer Gerechtigkeit liegen sollte, um eine positivere und hoffnungsvollere Zukunft fĂŒr alle zu gewĂ€hrleisten. Dabei mĂŒssen wir jedoch darauf achten, den Weg zur Genesung nicht einfach mit derselben Sprachregelung und demselben Denken zu gestalten, die uns in unsere gegenwĂ€rtige prekĂ€re Lage gebracht hat. Ein entscheidender Aspekt besteht darin, unser fortschrittsorientiertes Denken abzulegen, das so lange so viel Schaden angerichtet hat. In diesem Vortrag wird untersucht, wie Design zu dieser Genesung beitragen kann. Dabei ist es essenziell, solche Formen des Designs abzulehnen, die Innovationen um ihrer selbst willen und endlos oberflĂ€chlich Neues hervorbringen. Stattdessen erfordert es neue Formen kontextuellen Designs, dessen Ergebnisse nicht nur umweltbewusst, sondern auch Manifestationen ethischen Verhaltens und bedeutende BeitrĂ€ge zur menschlichen Kultur sind.

Panel 1: THE FUTURE OF DESIGN EDUCATION
hosted by FH JOANNEUM, Karl Stocker
Moderation: Karl Stocker

Design hat die Entwicklung der Menschheit von Anfang an begleitet und war speziell in den letzten 150 Jahren aktiv an der Entwicklung moderner Industriegesellschaften beteiligt. Daraus entsteht fĂŒr die Zukunft eine hohe gesellschaftliche Verantwortung, was sich auch in den Curricula der UniversitĂ€ten und Fachhochschulen widerspiegelt. „Design wird in den Designausbildungen weltweit als Verbesserung des Status quo und als Innovation beschrieben“, so Karl Stocker, Kurator des Symposiums und Leiter des Instituts Design und Kommunikation an der FH JOANNEUM. Das widerspricht der landlĂ€ufigen Auffassung, dass Design allein auf Ă€sthetische Formgebung abziele. Es geht vielmehr um eine ganzheitliche Perspektive, die auch ethische und moralische Aspekte berĂŒcksichtigt. Eine moderne Designausbildung ist somit auch eine Investition in die Gestaltung der Zukunft. Dazu referieren Kerstin Scheuch von der CENTRO-UniversitĂ€t in Mexiko City, Lorenzo Imbesi von der Sapienza University Rome und Luisa Bocchietto von der Citta del Arte in Biella.

 

_Speaker Panel 1: The Future of Design Education

  • Speaker 1: Luisa Bocchietto | independent professional architect and designer and Former president of World Design Organization
    Title: News Step in Design
  • Speaker 2: Kerstin Scheuch | Centro Mexico
    Title: Reflections on the future of education
  • Speaker 3: Lorenzo Imbesi | Sapienza University Rome
    Title: Designausbildung im postindustriellen Zeitalter

KARL STOCKER

 

© Silke Traunfellner

Karl Stocker ist Historiker und Leiter des Instituts fĂŒr Design & Kommunikation an der Fachhochschule FH JOANNEUM in Graz, Österreich. 1999 grĂŒndete er die Ausstellungsdesignagentur BISDATO, die Konzepte, Inhalte und Raumgestaltung fĂŒr kulturhistorische Ausstellungen und Museen produziert. Seine beruflichen und akademischen Interessen umfassen Design & Theorie, Design & Gesellschaft, Ausstellungsdesign und Sozio-Design. Die Ergebnisse seiner Forschung hat er bereits auf mehreren Konferenzen, Symposien und UniversitĂ€ten weltweit vorgestellt. Karl Stocker ist Autor und Herausgeber zahlreicher Publikationen, sein jĂŒngstes Projekt trĂ€gt den Titel Sozio-Design. Relevante Projekte entworfen fĂŒr die Gesellschaft (BirkhĂ€user 2017). Er ist ebenso Mitherausgeber der Publikation Designing Sustainable Cities (DeGruyter 2020).
www.fh-joanneum.at

Tag 2
11. Mai 2021

Panel 2: CHANGING URBAN CLIMATE
hosted by Green Tech Cluster
Moderation: Bernhard Puttinger

Das zweite Panel stellt das Thema Klima ins Zentrum, mit einem Fokus auf die besonderen Herausforderungen im urbanen Raum. Heute arbeiten bereits 80 Prozent der weltweiten Bevölkerung in StĂ€dten und großen Agglomerationen, vor allem in Asien und Lateinamerika. Das hat gravierende Auswirkungen auf die StĂ€dte, denen der Klimakollaps droht, wenn nicht wirkungsvoll gegengesteuert wird. DafĂŒr braucht es Ideen, politischen und stĂ€dtebaulichen Willen und auch eine geeignete Infrastruktur, die es etwa ermöglicht, Energie auf lokaler Ebene zu produzieren, zu speichern und zu verbrauchen. Und: „Es braucht gut durchdachte Lösungen, damit Menschen die Klimawende aktiv und bilanziell wirkungsvoll vorantreiben“, so Bernhard Puttinger, GeschĂ€ftsfĂŒhrer des Green Tech Clusters, der Kooperationspartner des Symposiums ist. Die zentrale Frage dabei ist: Wie kann Technologie Hand in Hand mit den Menschen gehen? Antworten darauf liefern Karlheinz Boiger vom Breathe Earth Collective (siehe dazu auch Seite 14 in diesem Magazin) und die Architektin und Stadtplanerin AglaĂ©e Degros von der Technischen UniversitĂ€t Graz.

 

 

_Speaker Panel 2: Changing Urban Climate

  • Speaker 1: Karlheinz Boiger, Breathe Earth Collective
    Titel: Can future cities perform like a forest?
  • Speaker 2: AglaĂ©e Degros, TU Graz, Institut für StĂ€dtebau
    Titel: Urban Climate Surfaces
  • Speaker 3: Daria Mayskaya, Energie Steiermark Kunden GmbH
    Titel: Future Energy Communities

BERNHARD PUTTINGER

 

© Green Tech Cluster

Bernhard Puttinger kann auf ĂŒber 25 Jahre Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet der grĂŒnen Innovation in verschiedenen Positionen in Forschung und Wirtschaft zurĂŒckblicken. Er ist ausgebildeter Ingenieur fĂŒr Energie- und GebĂ€udetechnik sowie Executive MBA. Seit 2007 ist er GeschĂ€ftsfĂŒhrer des Green Tech Clusters Steiermark und verantwortlich fĂŒr Innovationsprojekte im Bereich grĂŒne Energie, grĂŒnes Bauen und grĂŒne Ressourcen mit 200 Unternehmen. Die Region Graz/Österreich ist als Green Tech Valley bekannt, in dem Unternehmen mit einer durchschnittlichen jĂ€hrlichen Wachstumsrate von 10% schneller als die WeltmĂ€rkte wachsen. Der Green Tech Cluster fĂŒhrt als globale Nummer 1 die Rangliste der Cleantech-Cluster von US-amerikanischen Venture-Netzwerken und die Rangliste „Cluster Management Excellence“ von ESCA an.
www.greentech.at

Panel 3: Designing for People
hosted by FH JOANNEUM
Moderation: Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr

Bei allen unterschiedlichen Aufgaben von Design bleibt eines immer gleich: Design ist fĂŒr den Menschen gemacht, und der Mensch steht folglich auch immer im Zentrum von Design. Dass dabei nicht alles ĂŒberall gleich geeignet und sinnvoll ist, zeigt das dritte Panel des Symposiums. „Design ist immer auch abhĂ€ngig vom kulturellen, geografischen und sozio-ökonomischen Background, in dem es entsteht“, meint Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr, Designerin und Lehrende am Institut Design und Kommunikation der FH JOANNEUM. Dementsprechend heterogen sind auch die Speaker des Panels. Mariana GonzĂĄlez de la Rosa von der Universidad Puebla in Mexiko spricht darĂŒber, wie soziale und solidarische Ökonomien im Designbereich vorangetrieben werden können, gerade auch vor dem Hintergrund teils schwieriger wirtschaftlicher VerhĂ€ltnisse. Weitere BeitrĂ€ge kommen von Angus Campbell von der Elam School of Fine Arts at the University of Auckland/Neuseeland sowie vom Designer und Designvermittler Emanuel Barbosa von der Designhochschule ESAD in Porto.

 

_Speaker Panel 3: Designing for People

  • Speaker 1: Mariana GonzĂĄlez de la Rosa | Universidad Iberoamericana Puebla
    Titel: Alternative economies, another way to rethink design practices for the people
  • Speaker 2: Emanuel Barbosa | ESAD – College of Art and Design, Matosinhos Porto
    Titel: What can we do?
  • Speaker 3: Angus Campbell | Elam School of Fine Arts at the University of Auckland
    Titel: Designing with & beyond People

SIGRID BÜRSTMAYR​

© Ron Sandmayr

Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr ist studierte Ausstellungsdesignerin und engagierte Designaktivistin. Sie arbeitet an der Fachhochschule FH JOANNEUM Graz. Ihre Forschungsergebnisse prĂ€sentierte sie auf Konferenzen, etwa kĂŒrzlich in Mexiko-Stadt, Istanbul und bei einem TEDx Talk. Menschen auf der ganzen Welt zu treffen ist der Motor fĂŒr ihren Optimismus. Sigrid BĂŒrstmayr ist der Meinung, dass Design ganze Umgebungen formen und die Gesellschaft zum Besseren verĂ€ndern kann. Als Mitherausgeberin ist jĂŒngstens ihre Publikation Designing Sustainable Cities (DeGruyter 2020) erschienen.
www.fh-joanneum.at

SYMPOSIUM
Redesign the Future
10. und 11. Mai 2021, Online-Event

Der Link zum Live-Stream wird zeitnah online gestellt.

detaillierte Informationen zum Programm:
Tag 1, 10. Mai
Tag 2, 11. Mai

Das Symposium wird veranstaltet von der FH JOANNEUM und der Creative Industries Styria in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Green Tech Cluster.