Lectures, Women & Design
WOMEN IN DESIGN USSR 1917 – Russia 2017
14. May 2019 | 13.00 — 14.30 | Joanneumsviertel Auditorium
Lecture at the FH JOANNEUM lecture days „COMMON! DESIGN FOR SOCIETY“.
© Alexandra Sankova

In the beginning of the last century, after the Revolution of 1917, a new-formed country, the Soviet Union, began life from the scratch, creating a new ideology, a new visual image and a way of life. The new household required collective work, which meant more freedom for women. Living in house-communes, eating in canteens and factory-kitchens, raising children in nurseries and kindergartens, participating in mass cultural and political and leisure activities, going to sports palaces and libraries – women had to work and have an active social life. Men and women became equal.

In the very first post-revolutionary years, women artists and designers started to play a significant role among the avant-garde pioneers, among them were Lyubov Popova and Varvara Stepanova. They both were professors at VHUTEMAS (State Аrt and Technical School) and worked at the first textile factory designing new fabrics.

In the 1960s, having recovered from the Second World War, the country began to pay more attention to design. Women occupied leadership positions in design companies. Alla Levashova was the head of the special art design bureau at the Ministry of Light Industry, Svetlana Mirzoyan was a leading specialist at the Riga Autobus Factory, Maria Maistrovskaya was an expert designer at the Furniture Research Institute.

Nowadays, despite political and social changes in the country, women continue to work in various areas of design. They create their own design bureaus or work as invited experts for several companies. Modern designers include Yekateriana Kopytina, Victoria Andreyanova, Anna Kulachek and many other remarkable successful women professionals.

Alexandra Sankova

Alexandra Sankova is the General Director and a co-founder of the Moscow Design Museum, which was established in 2012 with the mission to collect, preserve, and promote the design heritage of Russia. The exhibitions she curated and co-curated at the museum include Soviet Design 1950–1980 (2016, 2017), Packaging Design. Made in Russia (2013), and Discovering Utopia: Lost Archives of Soviet Design (2016), which received the Utopia Medal at the London Design Biennale 2016, History of Russian Design 1917-2017 (2017, 2018), The Design System in the USSR and many others. She founded the non-profit organisation New Graphics, which organized exhibitions and educational events with international experts in Russia, and was Senior Advisor for Cultural Affairs at the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Moscow. She is the author of 23 (IndexMarket, 2010), a collection of interviews with Russia’s pre-eminent designers, and a co-author of Designed in the USSR: 1950–1989 (Phaidon, 2018), VNIITE – Discovering Utopia (Unit Editions, 2018), and was a producer of the documentary History of Russian Design (2018). Alexandra Sankova received her Master of Arts degree in Graphic Design from Stroganov Moscow State University of Arts and Industry.

When
14. May 2019 | 13.00 — 14.30
Where

Frauen & Design, Lectures
Women in Design USSR 1917 – Russia 2017
14. Mai 2019 | 13.00 — 14.30 | Joanneumsviertel Auditorium
Vortrag im Rahmen der FH JOANNEUM Lecture Days „COMMON! DESIGN FOR SOCIETY“
© Alexandra Sankova

Zu Beginn des letzten Jahrhunderts, gleich nach der Revolution von 1917, begann ein neu gegründetes Land, die Sowjetunion, ganz von vorne und schuf eine neue Ideologie, ein neues Image und eine neue Lebensweise. Der neue Haushalt erforderte kollektive Arbeit, was für Frauen hieß, dass sie mehr Freiheit hatten. In Hausgemeinschaften leben, in Kantinen und Fabrikküchen essen, Kinder in Kinderkrippen und Kindergärten erziehen, an kulturellen, politischen und Freizeitaktivitäten teilnehmen, Sportstätten und Bibliotheken besuchen – Frauen mussten arbeiten und ein aktives soziales Leben führen. Männer und Frauen waren plötzlich gleichgestellt.
In den ersten Jahren nach der Revolution spielten Künstlerinnen und Designerinnen unter den Avantgarde-Pionieren eine bedeutende Rolle, darunter Lyubov Popova und Varvara Stepanova. Beide waren Professorinnen an der VHUTEMAS (Staatliche und Technische Schule) und arbeiteten in der ersten Textilfabrik, wo sie neue Stoffe entwarfen.
In den 1960er Jahren begann das Land, nachdem es sich vom Zweiten Weltkrieg erholt hatte, dem Design mehr Aufmerksamkeit zu schenken. Frauen besetzten Führungspositionen in Design-Unternehmen wie Alla Levashova, die das Spezialbüro für Kunstdesign im Ministerium für die Lichtindustrie leitete, Svetlana Mirzoyan, die eine Expertin in der Riga Autobus-Fabrik war und Maria Maistrovskaya, eine führende Designerin im Institut für Möbelforschung.
Trotz aller politischen und sozialen Veränderungen im Land, arbeiten Frauen heute immer noch in verschiedenen Design-Bereichen. Sie gründen ihre eigenen Designbüros oder arbeiten als geladene Expertinnen für unterschiedliche Unternehmen. Zu den modernen Designern zählen Yekateriana Kopytina, Victoria Andreyanova, Anna Kulachek und viele andere bemerkenswerte, erfolgreiche Frauen.

Alexandra Sankova

Alexandra Sankova ist Generaldirektorin und Mitbegründerin des Moscow Design Museum, das 2012 mit dem Auftrag gegründet wurde, das Designerbe Russlands zu sammeln, zu erhalten und zu fördern. Zu den Ausstellungen, die sie im Museum kuratierte und mitkuratierte, zählen Sovjet Design 1950–1980 (2016, 2017), Packaging Design. Made in Russia (2013) und Discovering Utopia: Lost Archives of Sovjet Design (2016), welche die Utopia-Medaille bei der London Design Biennale 2016 erhielt, History of Russian Design 1917-2017 (2017, 2018), The Design System in the USSR und viele andere. Sie gründete die Non-Profit-Organisation New Graphics, die Ausstellungen und Bildungsveranstaltungen mit internationalen Experten in Russland organisierte und war Senior Advisor for Cultural Affairs in der Botschaft des Königreichs der Niederlande in Moskau. Sie ist die Autorin von 23 (IndexMarket, 2010), einer Sammlung von Interviews mit führenden russischen Designern und Mitautorin von Designed in der UdSSR: 1950–1989 (Phaidon, 2018), VNIITE – Discovering Utopia (Unit Editions), 2018). Zusätzlich war sie Produzentin des Dokumentarfilms History of Russian Design (2018). Alexandra Sankova machte ihren Master of Arts in Grafikdesign an der Stroganov Moscow State University of Arts and Industry.

Wann
14. Mai 2019 | 13.00 — 14.30
Wo